About Us

Thank you for visiting the Department of  Human Pathology website

The current  Department of Human Pathology  was initially constituted as a Department of Pathology and Microbiology in 1967 to service the then newly established medical school within the University College  Nairobi. The University college Nairobi  was at that time   a constituent college of the University of East Africa. The Department was started through international collaboration with The Royal Infirmary Glasgow Medical School, UK.   Microbiology later separated from Pathology in the 1975 -1979 period  to become the present Department of Medical Microbiology.  

 The Department of Human Pathology has graduated over 70 Pathologists (MMED Pathology)  with different sub-specialties including Anatomic Pathology, Immunology, Clinical Chemistry and Haematology . The majority of these  Pathologists are serving in senior positions within the Kenya Government’s Ministry of Health, local Universities and the Private sector. In the late 1990s the Department launched the MSc Clinical Cytology course which has produced over 20 clinical cytologists

The first head of the Department was Prof. H.M. Cameron. The Department was subsequently headed by Professor Alfred Kung’u. Others who have headed the Department include Prof. D.G. Gatei, Prof. Huber, the late Prof. G.Kasili, Prof . P. Ojwang, the late Prof. Nyongo, the late Prof. J. Mumo, Prof. L. Muchiri, Dr. Jane Mwangi, Prof. J.N.Githang’a, Prof. W.O. Mwanda, Prof. G.W. Kitonyi, Prof. A. Amayo and Dr. W. Waweru. Currently the Department is headed by Dr. P. Maturi